Alizarin is:
Terran Fernandez - Josh Kay - Jon Damon - Avelino Ramirez

Alizarin - Cinematic rock/metal centered around brooding melodies, wrapped in epic compositions.


Born out of the forward-thinking inclinations of guitarist/vocalist Josh Kay in late 2017, Alizarin is on a mission to explore unconventional rock music. In addition to Kay, the group consists of Jon Damon on drums, Terran Fernandez on bass guitar, and Avelino Ramirez on keyboard. Alizarin is based in Los Angeles, CA and endeavors to create compelling, dramatic music that defies rock expectations.


Alizarin released their first full-length album, titled 'Cast Zenith', in 2018 and is preparing to release their new album ‘The Last Semblance’ in Summer 2020. Unlike their strictly instrumental debut record, this sophomore release features prominent vocals throughout. Rich harmonies and baritone resonance from Kay’s voice add a new dimension to the music, allowing the band’s sound to expand to truly uncharted territory.


‘The Last Semblance’ covers a wide spectrum of sonic landscapes and emphasizes the melodic journey over deliberate technique. Although Kay is the chief songwriter of Alizarin, the compositions on the new record focus on a balance of each instrument, with less of an emphasis on the domination of guitar solos and a greater exploration of what each musician is capable of. The album draws influence from such groups as Porcupine Tree, Haken, Alice in Chains, Opeth, Portishead, and many more. The results are a sound that is challenging to define, pensive, and often at the crossroads of melody and dissonance.


Keep your eyes and ears peeled for Alizarin on social media and wherever the future of music lives.